About Us

Who We Are.

The Boys & Girls Club of Stamford is a dedicated youth facility that is open daily, managed by professional staff and made available and affordable to all youth.  We serve more than 1,600 Children (ages 6-18), offering programs and services to promote and enhance their development. We inspire confidence, a sense of competence, usefulness, belonging and influence in this POSITIVE PLACE FOR KIDS.
 
BGCS is located in census tract 214 on Stamford’s West side, where over 70% of the community is categorized as low income. With over 45% of our youth coming from single parent households, many of these young people have no adult supervision at home and spend each day at the Club until parents return from work. 42% of our youth are African American, 50% Hispanic, 4% Caucasian, 2% multi-racial and 2% from other races. Approximately 58% of the members are male and 42% are female.
 
The Boys & Girls Club of Stamford’s focus is to offer programming in the core areas of Character and Leadership Development, Education and Career Development, Health and Life Skills, The Arts, and Sports, Fitness and Recreation. The Boys & Girls Club has many committed partners who have supported and continue to support the many program offerings that are made available to our members.  

Financials

Boys & Girls CLub of Stamford is a Non-Profit 501(c)(3) Organization.

Meet the Staff

Every staff member at the Boys and Girls Club of Stamford is a thought leader who has made significant contributions to our community, club and its members. Each one brings a unique set of skills and expertise to our organization. 

Mary C. Rich Clubhouse

Jeff Pytlak

Director of Operations
203-324-0594 (ext. 102)
jpytlak@bgcastamford.org

Sam Gordon

Director of Development
203-324-0594 (ext. 107)
sgordon@bgcastamford.org

James Kendall

Senior Program Director
203-324-0594 (ext. 103)
jkendall@bgcastamford.org

Barry Woods

Teen Program Director
203-324-0594 (ext. 112)
bwoods@bgcastamford.org

Sedera Jones

Membership Director
203-324-0594 (ext. 100) sjones@bgcastamford.org

Lamar Ranger

Education Director
203-324-0594 (ext. 104)
lranger@bgcastamford.org

Steve Basquiat

Sports Director
203-324-0594 (ext. 105)
sbasquiat@bgcastamford.org

Dale R. Holder

Assistant Director of Development
203-324-0594 (ext. 106)
dholder@bgcastamford.org

Megan Lillie

Marketing & Event Coordinator
203-324-0594 (ext. 108)
mlillie@bgcastamford.org

Glenda Loop

Administrative Assistant
203-324-0594 (ext. 109)
gloop@bgcastamford.org

Jennifer Rizzo

Bookkeeper
203-324-0594 (ext. 110)
jrizzo@bgcastamford.org

Amy Hermanns

Accountant
203-324-0594 (ext. 111)
ahermanns@bgcastamford.org

Yerwood Center

Maribel Sandalo

Yerwood Center Director
203-323-3547
msandalo@bgcastamford.org

Melissa Stanley

Yerwood Program Director
203-323-3547
mstanley@bgcastamford.org

Mike Halley

Yerwood Program Director
203-323-3547
mhalley@bgcastamford.org

Dwayne Stephenson

Alt. Yerwood Center Director
203-323-3547
dstephenson@bgcastamford.org

Board of Directors

OFFICERS
 
Andrew Zeitlin
Board President 
Shipman & Goodwin LLP
 
Karyn Ward
Vice President 
The Ashforth Company
 
Fanny G. Ferreira
Board Secretary
People’s United Bank
 
Kit Thorpe
Board Treasurer
CFGI
 
Neil Frieser
Immediate Past Board President
Frontier Communications
 
DIRECTORS
Gayle Alswanger
Stamford Hospital
 
Matthew Blumenthal
Koskoff, Koskoff, & Bieder P.C.
 
Brian Carroll
PwC
 
Scott Centrella
Diserio, Martin, O’Connor & Castiglioni LLP
 
Katie Nyarady Clymer 
The Siegfried Group
 
Jayar Donlan
WWE
 
Steve Elbaum
Robinson + Cole LLP
 
Amy George
Terex Corporation
 
Christopher Grundy
Avison Youn
 
Jenice Jeter
A+E Networks
Shahzad Khawaja
Xerox Corporation
 
Seth Lapine
Lapine Inc.
 
Bruce Moore, Jr.
Eastern Land Management, Inc.
 
Lauren Neubauer 
Bridgewater Associates
 
Gregg Peters
Synchrony
 
Susan Pica
Vitesse Worldwide
 
Gary Purpura
Cohn Reznick LLP
 
Natasha Tomai 
Signature Construction Group
 
Nancy Westington
Bank of America/Merrill Lynch
 
Joseph Zeni
KPMG

Please note that it is the policy of Boys & Girls Club of Stamford not to engage in political activity or endorse candidates for political office. Any endorsements expressed by individuals associated with Boys & Girls Club of Stamford are not those of the organization.